by    0   1


An advantage of being far behind on inbox submissions is I can be super-selective. You are going to love what Pseudonym.

First, I shall let this musician introduce himself. From his bio on BandCamp:

“Pseudonym is a band consisting of me, Paul Desjarlais, and other real or imaginary people. Back in Boston a long time ago I used to play bass for The Uncalled Four, and then for Haberland. After that I released a cassette album called Pabz, and later a CD called Pig Tail World. Now I live in San Francisco and I record songs when I get a chance and sometimes post albums online.”

With so many out there with a synthesizer, drum machine, minimal skills, and a computer self-proclaimed a DIY musician, it is a tag line here at Indie Nation… “We listen to bad music so you don’t have to”. Pseudonym is a welcome exception.

I am going to start with Pseudonym’s most recent release, Pack of Lies. I shall give a more general opinion of his work in a bit. I shall start by saying that I listened to and enjoyed every single track that he has at BandCamp. His latest release Pack of Lies is a real bargain at a price of under fifty cents per track.

While he covers many genres, almost half of the tracks on this release are powerful pop. However, every track on this release is a gem. Granted it is early in the year but this is the best release I have heard this year.

The tracks are:

  1. i’m fine – an awesome soft psychedelic sounding tune
  2. all the little things – pop, powerful, energetic
  3. dumb one – the is mood set nicely with the delivery and harmony of the vocals and a great chorus, great ending
  4. i don’t care about love – grabs the listener with the first note and the song just goes, move like an amusement park ride… you don’t want it to end
  5. victimless crime – catchy bass and rhythm, wonderfully layered vocals, reminded me of some the softer stuff by The Beach Boys
  6. only life – bouncy bass and percussion and the kaleidoscope of other sounds used minimalistically set this one apart. guitar guitar riff at the end.
  7. don’t leave me this way – a sad a song that sets the mood nicely with lyrics that, in my opion, are true about every ending relationship
  8. we had a deal – a great slower, softer tune, nice acoustic guitar and dreamy vocals
  9. she’s upside down – spoiler alert, you finally hear the album title here, great lyrics, no surprise another great track
  10. lorraine – toss-up between this track and i’m fine being my album favorite, powerful
  11. tragedy –                  I am
  12. round and round – saying
  13. someone like you – too much
  14. foreign talk –           you need
  15. search party –         to listen and buy all his material

I spent extra time on this artist. Simply said, well worthy of the extra time. I love all the material I have found and listened to. One of the best things about Psedonym is you don’t have to think about whether you like the material or not. You immediately know it is awesome.

Pseudonym’s material is well produced, has great music, vocals, lyrics and an array of sounds and styles… a welcome change from some kid in his mother’s basement with a new drum machine. Creatively tackling a kaleidoscope of genre and sound.

While most of the music is pop, he hits every aspect of the genres, hard noisy rock, avant-garde sounding material, psychedelic, light and airy ballads, hard and heavy electronic sounding material, full and rich pop music, and smooth ballads. Choosing a favorite by this artist is difficult, better said impossible. Paul Desjarlais and other real or imaginary people do a perfect job at musical creation.  One last note, be sure to read the album notes, they are just as creative as the music.

Pseudonym has the following releases on BandCamp:

Okay, here is a video.

PseudonymAccident Prone

Also be sure to check out Grasshopper Records. Thanks for reading and feel free to comment. Please remember to support the indie artist by buying their merchandise, seeing them live and by spreading the word about their music.

Related Posts

Through Gamer Goggles News (TGGN) 2-27-2012

Through Gamer Goggles is a new news and media blog for gamers. We focus on blending or balancing our real lives with our games. This has lead us to product reviews, unboxings, and how to videos. We also write articles on game strategies, better role playing, and just plain old guessing about the industry. We […]


Sick of Sarah – Artist Spotlight

Sick of Sarah - Artist SpotlightThis week at The Indie Music Source… Jamie of the band Sick of Sarah stops by The Mothpod to talk about their album 2205, touring and much more! Check It Out At!


Merlin Moon – Artist Spotlight

Merlin Moon - Artist SpotlightThis week at The Indie Music Source… Indie artist Merlin Moon stops by The Mothpod to discuss his upcoming album Bohemian Side of the Sky. Check It Out At!


Mothpod 230 – Beamin’ Back Atcha

Mothpod 230 - Beamin' Back AtchaThis week at The Indie Music Source… Anji Bee is your hostess with the mostest for this chill edition of The Mothpod. Artists featured include Shannon Hurley, Rochelle Jordan, Bloody Mary and many more! Check It Out At!


Ten Year Vamp – Artist Spotlight

Ten Year Vamp - Mothpod Artist SpotlightThis week at The Indie Music Source… Ten Year Vamp has just dropped their new album Lust, and to mark the occasion bandmates Debbie and Mark have stopped by The Mothpod to for a behind-the-scenes look full of sensuality, sexuality and rock & roll! Check It Out At!


About The Author

Just a person who love independent music.
View all posts by

Leave a Reply

Back to Top